Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
Sorry for the simple question, guys, but I'm just getting started. After running the brass through the tumbler, how do you get all the polishing compound dust out of the cases?

Brian

GB4

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I use walnut hull media and don't have a dust problem if I keep it changed regularly, I also don't de-prime the brass till I tumble it, save picking the primer holes clean!

George Orwell was a Prophet, not a novelist. Read 1984 and then look around you!

Old cat turd!

"Some men just need killing." ~ Clay Allison.

I am too old to fight but I can still pull a trigger. ~ Me

S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
Right on .Just use a rag to wipe it off

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
If you're using straight walnut, you might try dumping in a couple of capfuls of mineral spirits. Also, invest in a birdcage type of separatar.

I could wish a lot of things on my worst enemy but neuropathy ain't one of them.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
+1 on the walnut.
Use of a good separator also helps, I find.

"For joy of knowing what may not be known we take the golden road to Samarkand."
James Elroy Flecker

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I had problems with that when I first started cause I didn't know better.

I started out with that Lyman Walnut media. That always coated my cases.

Since then I've gone to a 50/50 mix of plain corncob and plain ol' crushed up walnut with a [b][color:#3333FF]capfull of Flitz[/color][/b] every once in a while.

M
Campfire Regular
Online Sleepy
Campfire Regular
M