Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
S
I know Toyota makes the Tacoma in two wheel drive with locking rear differential. Are any of the full size truck available with locking rear differential? I realize I could get it put on after-market, just wondering if any brands have it as an option. Seems to me I heard Chevy had that has an option, just not sure. Thanks.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Chevy does, but its a limited slip (Gov lock) not a full locker.

Did I make you cry......boooo hooo, life goes on.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Chevy calls it a locker, but it may on truth be a limited slip, I don't know.

R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
i have a GMC 2500HD and the sticker reads ,locking read differential" but i am not a mechanic to know how far they can push that term?
My 1989 F150 would get stuck in wet grass on the level, i knew it didn't! thank heavens it had 4wd , actually 2 spin on opposite sides, it sucked!

is that extra 25fps worth detonation?
NRA life member
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Chevy "locks" when one wheel starts to slip. Not limited slip.

IC B2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
For 2011, Ford offered a true locking differential only in 4WD vehicles and a limited slip in both 4WD and 2WD. About 1/3 of the 2WD F-150s in SLT trim and above that I looked at on a dealer's lot in El Paso recently had limited slip rear ends.

Ben

Some days it takes most of the day for me to do practically nothing...
T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Don't know about the GM Gov-locs, but the axles in the old military Chevys have real lockers, Detroits IIRC. One drive around a parking lot listening to the rear diff click and bang and the tires chirping will confirm this, it also confirms why no OEM will put a full-time locker in a truck. Most folks wouldn't buy it.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker