Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
I have never re-loaded a cartridge in my life, but I have been saving brass for 25 years. I got into my stash the other day and began the 4 hour process of sorting brass from the various calibers I've saved over the years. Im currently in the planning stages of a reloading setup. Anyway, I noticed that lots of my brass is tarnished with some very light "corrosion". Would it be best for me to go ahead and purchase a tumbler and polish this brass for long term storage? I have included a picture of a .222Rem casing that is pretty chararistic of what many of mine look like. Is this common? Does this fowling pattern mean that my rifle is doing something it should not be doing?
[Linked Image]

GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Brass starts to tarnish immediately after you polish it. If your intention is long term storage of shiny brass, you're wasting your time.

Not certain, but I believe what you have is either carbon fouling or heat scale from firing. Whatever it is, I find it impossible to completely remove.

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
If you have that much, you might consider selling it and when (and if) you get into reloading you can start fresh.

Aim for the exit hole.
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
I've never tumbled a piece of brass. Ever.

Travis

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
pharmvet:

Given that much age, on average, your brass will benefit from annealing, as it hardens with age. Otherwise, you MAY get cracked necks...it depends also on how consistently it was annealed when it was first manufactured.

A good way to keep brass shiny once cleaned is to place in zip-lock bags and purge (suck) the air out before sealing. Not perfect, but as good as it gets for long term storage.