Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Dogballs

It chaps my ass as I own a small construction company and work my butt off just to take a few days off in hunting season.

I hear you there. I grew up as the only boy on a family owned dairy farm and got to work every Thanksgiving, Christmas morning, Fourth of July, etc, etc, etc. I once went from April 15th to September 24th without a single day off (not even a weekend). We never went on any vacations and I never went hunting in the morning or evening until I graduated from high school. Just one of the many pleasures of the self-employed small business owner.

On the flip side, every time I go on a guided hunt it seems that all of the other guys in camp are "construction contractors", so, they must be doing something right. grin

Chet

The first great thing is to find yourself and for that you need solitude and contemplation. I can tell you deliverance will not come from the rushing noisy centers of civilization. It will come from the lonely places. Fridtjof Nansen
GB1

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
I both changed positions within my company and went over 10 years recently. Somehow I ended up getting 36 days this year. Also, I carried over 11. Don't think I'll be able to use it all, but I'll use some.

Bob

I met a French guy the other day. I asked him "Do you speak German?" He said "No." I said "You're welcome!"
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I get combined sick/vacation leave, 4wks a year. I had 5 weeks at my previous employer after 10 yrs of service. My current company starts new employees at 3 wks of leave, but as part of my offer they bumped it to 4 wks.

Honestly I think most employees will be at their most efficient if they take a week off every 3-4 months.

I usually take off a week at the beginning of the summer, a week at the end, and then take off the week between Christmas and New Years.

Campfire Regular