Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
I
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I
I've been hunting elk for 45 years & I don't think I've ever seen twin calves. It its legal there shouldn't be any debate, an antlerless tag is meant to be.......an antlerless tag for a reason.

Dick

GB1

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Originally Posted by Gainsayer
My buddy and I were hunting for a spike Sunday in the Utah general season elk hunt. We watched a cow and her two young calves run across a sage brush flat and after about 30 shots all three were dead.

Good lord, unless someone is truly hurting financially and desperate for meat, I cannot see gunning down calves.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Calves, in my book are the finest of elk table fare. If one could only take about 3 per year.... Near any cut is a breakfast steak that can be cut with a fork.

1Minute
D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
Elk are social animals, and orphaned elk calves do better than orphaned mule deer fawns because they still have the herd to watch over them. As mentioned, twin calves are rare in elk so in most instances one of the calves is likely adopted.

As far as color differences between wet and dry cows? I'll admit that sometimes heifer cows appear lighter in color, but I don't know if any color variation is enough to distinctively tell them apart from wet cows......there are too many variables such as sunlight angles and cleanliness of hide to make it a reliable indicator. If you're bothered shooting wet cows, watch the herd for a few minutes until you find a heifer, they are likely better eating anyway.

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Originally Posted by dogcatcher223
Originally Posted by Gainsayer
My buddy and I were hunting for a spike Sunday in the Utah general season elk hunt. We watched a cow and her two young calves run across a sage brush flat and after about 30 shots all three were dead.