Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by gt50
No gun registration, just a course to educate gun owners on proper carry, firearms safety, shooting technique, etc. Courses could be provided by legitimate organization like the NRA. Something similar to a hunters safety course.

Let me clarify, I'm not saying I support, it's just been floated out there by people.

NO

"Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much" Teddy Roosevelt
GB1

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Originally Posted by whelennut

There is a reason they call it BASIC.
whelenut

I am a NRA certified firearms instructor. I also went to basic training in the USMC with a PMI. Military basic training and qualifying out to 500 meters may be advanced training somewhere else.

futuaris nisi irrisus ridebis
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Mandatory??? NO. But if there would be some advantage for those who would take a "firearms training course", I would support the effort. What I mean, as far as an "advantage", is - with my CCW in my state, I can present that ID and not have to wait for the NICS check, they do not even have to call NICS. I still have to fill out the currently required paperwork, but no additional wait. Also, about 15 years ago, the state I was living in had something they called a "permit to purchase" which allowed the county sheriffs to, basically, do a preliminary background check and "pre-qualify" your ability to purchase a firearm, actually quite similar to my current CCW permit, but did not allow me to carry concealed.