Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
my wife wants me to build, and I think it is a great idea, a toy box for our little boy. The idea has morphed it to a pirate chest. I am not that good with wood, steel on the other had I am a master. I can frame and do simple things like hang doors and pre-built cabinets but the idea of building a curved top box seems kind of scary. I assume it would be better to do it with slats rather than try to curve a piece of plywood but how do i determine the angles and better yet how do I cut it, I have at my disposal a jig saw, and circular saw and of course a drill and impact driver.

�The constitution of the United States asserts that all power is inherent in the people, that they may exercise it by themselves, that it is their right and duty to be at all times armed!� � Thomas Jefferson

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
If your wife says you need to build the project, then come back with you need to buy a tablesaw.

If you want a curved top, there are special plywoods that have the plys all going the same direction and are super bendy in one direction. I can't remember the name of the plywood but any good lumber yard or specialty wood shop will have it.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Just make the sides of the top radius pieces and then cut a bunch of 1x2 and start laying them across....no biggee.

Last edited by okok; 01/21/13.

Jed York does not own the 49ers; Russell Wilson does.
D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
If you make the slats narrow and thin enough, you should not have to worry about beveling anything. Narrower slats will go around the curve pretty easily, and the thinner the slats the less the gap between slats will be. At this point, all you would have to do is make the rounded ends to the lid and glue/nail the slats to the ends.