Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
J
jdohio Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
I'm working on getting my first shotgun ready for it's first turkey season (last season I borrowed one). Is this pattern OK or should I be trying something different?

Beretta Optima HP Extra Full Choke
Winchester Double X 3 1/2" with 2oz of #5
27 yards

[Linked Image]

GB1

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Too many holes in the pattern. Try some 3" in number 5. The Win XX magnum shoots really well with number 5s in all of my shotguns.

If that doesn't work, try a couple turkey chokes. Th Indian Creek Black Diamond is hard to beat.

"Whether you think you can or you think you can't, you're right."
Henry Ford

If it's tourist season, why can't we shoot them?
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I'm no expert but looks pretty thin at that distance. I'd try and find a Truglo Strut stopper extreme (ssx) choke tube and give it another go. The Winchester double x or Federal Turkey Thugs from Walmart seem to be the best low cost options for ammo.

J
jdohio Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
Thank you for the input.

I'm finding that the aftermarket choke selection for my gun is quite slim. I need Beretta Optima HP.

The gun came with a full choke, which measures at .691 according to my cheap calipers. I purchased Beretta's XF choke that measures at .689.

The only aftermarket one I can find is the Gobblin Thunder. According to their chart Kick's Industries, I should be using .680 with #5 3 1/2". Anyone think that is worth a try or should I go tighter at .675 or .670?

OPTIMA HP
#4 � 3" 680
#4 � 3 1/2" 680
#5 � 3" 675
#5 � 3 1/2" 680
#6 � 3" 670
#6 � 3 1/2" 675

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I'd try some magnum blend before I changed anything else. Pattern looks a little light though imo.

What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?
IC B2

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
www.oldgobbler.com

This place knows its stuff.