Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
TravisG Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
T
Hi guys. I'm fairly new to looking at Africa hunts. I'm sure there will be a lot of opinions. Anyway, it has always been my dream to experience an African safari. I cannot go this year or probably the next due to school and what not. I would like to start planning however. What can I expect cost wise for just the safari. I really don't know what a typical range would be. I know there are a lot of variables but what would be the cheapest I could expect and still get four or five species on maybe a 7 day hunt. To sum up, minus air fair and trophy expenses what does the typical plains game safari cost? Any other need to know info greatly appreciated.

Last edited by TravisG; 06/19/13.
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I can do a 5 typical animal 10 day trip for under 7k

This is no airfare, no trophy shipping, no taxidermy. Everything else is included from the moment you arrive until I put you back on the plane.

This is today, three years from now when you are ready, all bets are off. Kudu Trophy fees alone have nearly doubled in 10 years, now good natural wild bulls are in the 2600 plus range. In 2000 we had a bulls at 1600.00

Impala were 250, now pushing 400 in most places. Daily fees were 185-200, now 250-400 bucks

Fuel, food, restrictions, and political impact in Southern Africa have driven prices up in a big way.

ten years ago Zimbabwe was a brilliant hunting location, today the infrastructure and the safety in some places with the amount of business issues has handcuffed much of that old glory.

Botswana was the apex of safari hunting with the best trophies on earth and the most spectacular hunting anyplace. Thats gone now. No more hunting. Who would have thought that would ever have been possible?