Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
O
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
O
3rd season rifle coming up. Going to be hunting in Unit 77. Camping near 7500, hunting near 9000.

Forecast: http://www.intellicast.com/Local/Weather.aspx?location=USCO9791

Will be going in Sunday night, and hunting through Wednesday. This is my first time doing 3rd season, and it looks like some kind of weather is moving in on Tuesday. Showing precipitation chances - 60% - on Tuesday, dropping to 30% on Wednesday. Big drop in temperature as well. I'm guessing snow up high, but how high? And nasty rain/freezing rain in the lower elevations.

Trying to decide if I need to pack an extra layer, rain gear, both, less... all weight conscious choices because I'm backpacking in.

Any help from seasoned CO veterans would be great. How do you see the forecast playing out when the 10-day shows that? What will I most likely encounter?

GB1

B
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
B
Yup, you need all of it. You may not actually use it but you best have it.

B
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
B
You should read through this thread in the backpack hunting section. "Surviving a cold wet night". I carry a nylon stuff sack with some bare minimums for survival whenever I'm out. I'll vary what I have in my day pack depending on different situations but the survival sack always goes. It includes the obvious fire making ability with chemical toe and hand warmers, first aid, and a bivy bag.

http://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/topics/1105065/1

Last edited by BeanMan; 10/31/13.
O
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
O
I will be carrying a high quality emergency blanket, fire starting, etc during all my day hunting.

I'm really just trying to decide between the following options: