Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
M
How do you experienced guys deal with conflicting data in load books?

I've been loading for a few years but haven't ventured beyond a couple of powders using Hornady bullets and Hornady loading data.

I recently bought a Lyman and Hodgdon manual an noticed the min/max charges listed are much different in some cases.

Example:
The Hornady Manual list the min/max for Varget using their 150gr SP interlock as:
- 35.9 through 44.9

The Lyman Manual for the same bullet is :
- 42.5 through 47.0

I see the same thing with the other two powders I've used (h4895 and RL15)

My gut feel is to stick with the more conservative Hornady data but I see quite a few loads listed in the "308 load thread" that exceed the Hornady data.

Thanks,
Mike

GB1

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Max charges in manuals are good to work towards and past in some cases. Max in your rifle could be different than the manual, my rifle, etc. I have several loads that are above book max and I have no ill effects.

I don't load .308 Win but 44-45grs of Vargay seems to be a sweet spot with 168's so the Hornady data looks weak to me.

When I die I hope I don't start voting democrat.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I'm loading 46.5grs of Varget in my 308 with 150gr bullet and ave velocity is 2875fps.I like the 150gr in the 308,they shoot a little flatter than the 165gr.My load for them is 45.5grs of Varget with ave velocity of 2725fps.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
As Bob Hagel would say"You should not use a rifle that will kill an animal when everything goes right; you should use one that will do the job when everything goes wrong."Good words of wisdom...............
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Funny...start to finish.

Wow..............

Brad says: "Can't fault Rick for his pity letting you back on the fire... but pity it was and remains. Nothing more, nothing less. A sad little man in a sad little dream."
B