-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 9 of 11 1 2 7 8 9 10 11
T
T
When I was a student at Michigan Tech, we had an indoor pistol range on campus. I was a range officer for the pistol club. There was another RO watching the firing line and I was working in the office, getting a student outfitted with glasses, hearing protection, ammo, and a Ruger MK II. The student I was helping started talking about shooting his Savage 7mm RM. Said he had chronographed his 175 gr loads at 4400 FPS. I asked him if he meant 2400 FPS from a starting load? He kept on the 4400 fps tale, and claimed he had the chrono printouts to prove it. I laughed and said that any 7mm RM would likely blow the bolt out the back of the rifle long before it could produce 4400 fps with a 175 gr bullet. He said he'd bring in the printouts the next time he came. I laughed some more and said it doesn't matter, because that speed is BS. He tried harder to convince me; but I eventually said that he was either a liar, or an idiot who didn't know how to use his chronograph. At that point he left in a huff. He never did come back when I was working.

GB1

H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
while reading on another thread, the subject reminded me of an incident from several years past;

several years ago, my wife and i would climb the "M" approximately every 2 or 3 days, just to stay in reasonable shape.

on occasion, a friend would join us.

one particular night our friend Pete M. wanted to go, but we both had prior commitments, and couldn't go--and subsequently, Pete went by himself that evening.

after he had climbed the "M" and had come back down, he saw a group of several guys parked down in the lot, and they were partying--according to him--on booze and ditch weed.