Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
D
I'm far from the most experienced handloader, but I have been loading for 14 years or so for a handful of calibers. The first die set I purchased 14 years ago was a Hornady New Dimension in 25-06. It is the only Hornady dies I have. In my very first full length sizing effort, I managed to stick a case. Assumed it was a rookie mistake, maybe associated with the somewhat finicky One Shot case lube. I typically neck size only with LCD, so don't run the length dies that often. Over the years I've stuck 3 or 4 more cases, most recently last week. Every single one of them were in this same Hornady sizing die. I have concluded that it is junk and I ordered a Redding body only die for my 25-06 to replace it.

Am I wrong? Anyone else avoiding Hornady sizing dies?

Don't speculate when you don't know, and don't second guess when you do.
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Link

Nope you are not wrong Junk+p. At least you now have a nice seating die.

I've always been different with one foot over the line.....
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
drano, clean the die throughly using brakeclean and a 45 nylon brush. Then shoot the inside w/the spray lube and let DRY. After that use Imperial sizing die wax only. You will really like the body die but you also need something to size the neck. I use Redding w/a combo of body and neck dies (2) for my Swift (body only as needed).- Muddy

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter

Nope you aren't wrong, they are not good. Gave up on em 25 years ago.

Swifty
E
EdM Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
E
Originally Posted by drano 25