-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I recently purchased a Colt 1902 that has magnificent bluing as you can see by the reflections in the pics. There is a couple spots where it rusted a tiny bit and a scratch in the frame, also seen in the pics. The finish appears to be original to me but I am no expert. The barrel might as well be new. It shows very little sign of wear. S/N is in the top of the 36k's.

Were it not for the couple spots on the finish, the gun would look nearly new. I am unsure how to value such a piece. Please help.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by BrentD

I would not buy something that runs on any kind of primer given the possibility of primer shortages and even regulations. In fact, why not buy a flintlock? Really. Rocks aren't going away anytime soon.
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Ps, no box or paperwork.

I would not buy something that runs on any kind of primer given the possibility of primer shortages and even regulations. In fact, why not buy a flintlock? Really. Rocks aren't going away anytime soon.
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
If that is original finish it will bring north of a grand.

George Orwell was a Prophet, not a novelist. Read 1984 and then look around you!

Old cat turd!

"Some men just need killing." ~ Clay Allison.

I am too old to fight but I can still pull a trigger. ~ Me

Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I am pretty sure it is as the edges are sharp and no signs on the markings. The blueing is super deep unlike stuff seen today. The wear areas are simply not worn. It appears to have been in a collection for a long time.

I should be able to trade it for an ar then....

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
AR guys don't want that old piecer........grin

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Yours may be the Military Model, with the lanyard ring.