H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
Originally Posted by ltppowell
Originally Posted by Calhoun

IANAL.

huhuh...huhhuh...huh

I thought he forgot the heart symbol. shocked .....

then I realized he meant I am not a lawyer.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by denton
You will be able to directly ship a handgun to someone who can lawfully possess a handgun in a different state.

So how do are you going to know if your shipping to an Obama voter or not? Isn't it a bit difficult for you to determine if someone can lawfully possess a firearm? I think that's why the transfer has to go through an FFL.

It makes more sense for someone to be able to go to a different state from the one they live in and buy through an FFL.

Last edited by ConradCA; 02/14/15.

[Linked Image from ]
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Here is a good analysis of this decision:
Federal Court: Handgun Transfer Ban Unconstitutional

Here is the key paragraph:

The Hansons, residents of Washington DC, sought to purchase a pair of handguns directly from the FFL Mance. The Hansons were legally entitled to possess the handguns under both Texas and Washington DC law. Nevertheless, Mance was unable to give them possession of the handguns directly because federal law prohibits an FFL in one state from legally transferring handguns directly to a buy who is a resident of another state (for purposes of this analysis DC is deemed another state).

Last edited by ConradCA; 02/14/15.

[Linked Image from ]
S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
The above link is now broken.

Here is part of what Andrew Branca's article had to say.

"One of the frequent questions that has arisen since yesterday’s order was made public is whether an interested purchaser can now buy a handgun from an out-of-state FFL without having to go through the process of transferring the handgun to an in-state FFL to complete the transfer.