24hourcampfire.com
24hourcampfire.com
-->
Thread Like Summary
TSIBINDI
Original Post (Thread Starter)
by ctw
ctw
Wondering what this rifle is worth? I have had it a few years with designs of building a custom and am contemplating selling.

I also have a mannlicker birds eye stock semi inlet that I may sell
Thanks Chris

https://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/galleries/19286971#Post19286971
Liked Replies
by LLinSC
LLinSC
Ola’ Senor Lawrence-

Me llamo Luis… I am new to this “Campfire” country, having only recently emigrated from my native Guatemala courtesy of the generous immigration policies of your Government…

I have followed this website for some time, yet have never felt I had anything to contribute about which you had not already provided a DEFINITIVE (albeit not always correct) answer… So FORGIVE my ignorance and impertinence…

Regarding this thread, the statement (quoted by AK) with which you took exception was an excerpt of a WACA post I did in 2016. Roger Rule said (on p 184), while discussing Featherweight rear sights, that the (tall) Win 22K was used from 1952-1955 on low comb FWTs, while the (tall) Lyman 16A folding sight was used with low comb stocks from 1955-1963… Hence, a Win 22K on a low comb M70 FWT from 1957 MUST be incorrect… That’s your logic, right?

Where did Roger get his information? How did YOU independently verify its accuracy? Is it “Just you take” iskra? (Hi John – Miss you on WACA)! My comments (which were for the WACA audience) were based on two things: 1) Period Winchester catalogs; and, 2) WACA’s (my) ongoing observational survey of pre-64 M70s “as-found” between 1975 and today (currently over 20,000 entries). Admittedly we’ve only got <4% of total production, but what did Roger have? In your eyes Roger’s undocumented “observations” trump Winchester’s own literature and “what’s out there”… That’s ALL GOOD…