Home
Posted By: shaman Powder Measuring - 01/24/24
My education in reloading goes back to the early 80s. I had a buddy who'd owned his own gun store and custom ammo mfg. He showed me how one evening. He used an RCBS powder measure (don't remember the model) and we loaded 30-06 together. 15 years later, I started doing it myself.

It is from that initial lesson that I learned the proper way to use a powder measure was to move the barrel up smartly to receive the charge and then down to dispense it. The trick was to do it as close to the same way each time to minimize charge-to-charge differences.

When I got my RCBS Rock Chucker Master Kit, it came with a Uniflow measure. I assembled and used it as I remembered. I've had decent luck with it over the years. However, I noticed a drift when I was loading, usually towards a higher weight. There might be a drift of +.5 grains over 20 rounds. I eventually started throwing low and adding with a trickler. Nowadays I have a Hornady Auto-Charge that pretty much does the same thing.

I saw a Youtube yesterday that got me to thinking. A fellow was showing "THE CORRECT" way to use a powder dispenser. His method was completely the reverse. First off, he was slow and gentle with his strokes. His first stroke delivered the powder to the case and then rotated it up to fill for the next round. Is that really more correct? Does it make any bloody difference?

Second, he said that you should always use the small volume cylinder for everything. I've got both cylinders, and use the small one for pistols, and the large for everything else.

For the most part, I'm not using my Uniflow much these days. As I said, I got the Auto-Charge a while back, and it does a reasonable job. I've also gotten a Hornady LNL Auto-Progressive that came with its own powder measure. It's taken on the bulk of my pistol loading.

Still, I'm wondering. How do y'all use a powder measure?
Posted By: Feral_American Re: Powder Measuring - 01/24/24