Home
Posted By: Roosevelt23 Trekking Poles - 05/14/20
I have never used trekking poles before, but I am looking to purchase a pair. The country we hunt is pretty steep and uneven. There are a lot of options out there and I am not sure how to navigate all of the options. I would like a pair that is light weight, but won't crumple under a heavy load. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: Jordan Smith Re: Trekking Poles - 05/14/20
I really like the Black Diamond Carbon Cork.
Posted By: Rock Chuck Re: Trekking Poles - 05/14/20
Be sure to get the flip lock type. The twist locks can be hard to get loose once you tighten them enough to take a load without slipping. Also, I've had water get in the twist locks and freeze. You need pliers or heat to get them loose.
Posted By: Roosevelt23 Re: Trekking Poles - 05/14/20
Thank you
Posted By: MontanaCreekHunter Re: Trekking Poles - 05/14/20
Black Diamond Carbon Z's never slip, are super simple, and fold up with no hassles. Every locking type I have used has slipped which makes them an easy pass for me.
Posted By: SheriffJoe Re: Trekking Poles - 05/15/20

Black Diamond...good gear.

Be sure to bring a Phillips head-type tool to be able to tighten flickloks on long distance excursions in case they loosen.
Posted By: Springcove Re: Trekking Poles - 05/15/20
I have a bad knee so I bought some Black Diamond trekking poles last year. What a difference. Only way I was able to make it up and down the mountains of Idaho. Can’t recommend them enough.
Posted By: SheriffJoe Re: Trekking Poles - 05/15/20

Lent my poles to a guy I met on a volcano that was hurting bad from his bad knees.

He would have needed to be evac'd, otherwise.
Posted By: cwh2 Re: Trekking Poles - 05/15/20
The bd flicklocks are the best I've e found. Carbon will be lighter but significantly less durable in big rock. If you're talking trail use, the cascade mountain tech from Costco is a bargain, but don't expect them to hold up to much off trail rock.