Home
Posted By: BCHunter666 Recoil survey - 10/24/20
As a certified range officer I see all kinds of shooters out there. So I want to compare my experiences with what you all think. Let’s say you shoot a 243 very accurately. How much more recoil can you honestly take without flinching. Be honest. Is that a 270? 30-06? 300 mag? More. I have tested several experienced shooters having them turn their backs while I load , or not, their rifles. Then they have to shoot and flinching will become very clear. Results might surprise you
Posted By: saskfox Re: Recoil survey - 10/24/20
In my experience gun fit and gun weight are very important to reduce felt recoil. A gun that kicks the crap out of me might be quite tolerable to others and vise versa.
Posted By: bsa1917hunter Re: Recoil survey - 10/24/20
Yeah, it surprises me too. A lot of guys can't shoot for chidt..:
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Some guys can... My threshold is somewhere around 375H&H levels. I'll shoot my 338wm for 40 rounds off the bench in one outing, then shoot my 30-06 and creedmoor all day long if need be. Some guys are like my buddy Troy:

Some shoot like my buddy Mark. Same rifle Troy shot in the above pic:

And hell, just to confirm the rifle doesn't shoot like chidt:

So, yes some have a higher tolerance for recoil. As you can see, my buddy Troy doesn't like shooting a lightweight rifle, even when chambered for a small cartridge, such as the 6.5 CM...
Posted By: mauserand9mm Re: Recoil survey - 10/24/20
It's mind over matter isn't it? I think there might be a natural "clench" in anticipation of getting booted, but overcome by deliberatly avoiding it. Like I see sometimes pistol shooters drop there muzzles if the round doesn't go off (either empty mag or otherwise all rounds fired). It's still anticipation of recoil but not really a fear of it.
Posted By: Sam_H Re: Recoil survey - 10/24/20