Home
Posted By: Tennessee Penetration vs. Frag - 07/19/10
I am a hunting rookie. I have about 15 kills on hogs and deer.

With bullets I went from one end of the spectrum to the other. Most of the stuff I have shot has been with high frag bullets like the Sierra Matchking and the Hornady V-max. My last two kills were TSX bullets.

My question for some of you with more experience is, does one type of bullet appear to down whitetail deer faster? Penetrators or Frags? No difference?
Posted By: nitis Re: Penetration vs. Frag - 07/19/10
all depends on if you are a shoulder shooter or a ribcage shooter
Posted By: exbiologist Re: Penetration vs. Frag - 07/19/10
I agree that it depends on the game and shot placement as to which way you should lean. And while I like fragmentation, I don't go so far as to use varmint and match bullets. I like basic softpoints and Nosler Ballistic Tip type bullets for deer. With what you're doing now, you've at least come the right direction in using big game bullets, even though those TSXs aren't my favorite for deer sized stuff, unless you're driving them like a bat outta hell. Last two elk I used TSXs and TTSXs on were started in excess of 3300 and 3500 fps, respectively. They worked well. But for softer game I like softer bullets.
Posted By: JohnMoses Re: Penetration vs. Frag - 07/19/10
I don't want a bullet that fragments, period. I have had several bad experiences, others mileage may vary.

I do like bullets that open fairly quick, provide controlled expansion and offer good penetration over a wide range of velocity.

That may sound like having your cake and eating it too, but bullets that give you all 3 are out there.

IME they work well on broadside, quartering away and high shoulder shots. (deer & hogs).

Some are newer premium bullets and some have been around for quite awhile.