Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
K
What chamber would you pick if you had a free barrel: .223 Wylde, .264 LBC, or 6.5 Creedmoor?

I have big and small frame guns so it's just a matter of building an upper. My current .223 Wylde is a 16" set up for 3-Gun and my .308 Win is a 20" gun for PRS Gas Gun. I shoot 6.5 Creedmoor in a bolt gun so I'm looking at it over .260 for the ease of buying one type of case. The only reason I am looking at the 264 LBC is because I really don't like the big gassers and I have an unopened 500ct box of Sierra 123gn Match King on the shelf.

I will use this for the PRS and 3Gun Nation LR matches which only go out to 800yds. The last match I finished 5th with the 308, the team in first shot 223, and all the top five were TAC so I'm not sure I need the Creedmoor and the Grendel doesn't offer a huge advantage over 223 and won't beat my .308 load.

GB1

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
I am not an expert but I don't like the big gassers either, I have had a half dozen of them and never seem to keep them. I have built 6.8's, 300BO, have a 9 pound bolt gun with NF on it now that shoots very well in 6.5CM, but the little 223 is hard to beat. Does anyone build a lower that takes a special longer magazine in order to load the long amax bullets?

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I didn’t find the large frame AR platform to be all that “handy.” I’ve got too many .223 barrels as it is so I’d probably go with a 6.5G and build a lightweight AR with hunting in mind.

John 8:12 "I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life."
T
TWR Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
My uses are probably different than most but my AR's are 223. I don't care for the large platform of the 10 and don't like searching for brass in the grass so the 223 wins for me.

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B