-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Let me start by apologizing for my ignorance as I am just learning about scopes and the different options as I have never really shot beyond 100 yards. I just read a good breakdown on FFP and SFP and the importance that plays with regards to the reticle on an adjustable magnification scope. With that said, I am looking for a good scope that I can put on top of my Wby Vanguard S2 chambered in .308 which will allow me to shoot out to 400 yards. I am considering a fixed 6X with mil-dots or after reading this I am thinking that a 3-9 or 2.5-10 FFP with mil-dots and an illuminated reticle would give me a more versatile scope. What are the pros and cons of each and could you suggest some scopes under $1,000 I should consider?

Thank you kindly!

GB1

Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Must have been an even dumber question than I originally gave myself credit for...

L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L
While discontinued, there are still a few floating in the supply chain. These are very, very nice scopes with excellent glass and tracking.

Weaver 2-10x36

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Talley low mounts with a Leopold FX2 6X36 with dotz. This will cover 400 yds like a monkey humping a football!!! 😃

The recommendation is in the vested interest of keeping your rifle light and agile while at the same time covering your bases with aplomb.

Trystan

Last edited by Trystan; 11/15/16.

Good bullets properly placed always work, but not everyone knows what good bullets are, or can reliably place them in the field
R
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
R
I had some friends sell me on the 6-36 Leupold with dotz. Used 3-9's both vx2 & ultralight for many years.
Don't like the 6. I want 3 or 9. The 6 is either too much or not enough. The field of view is too small for my taste.
My first choice is the 3-9 ultralight.