Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
D
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
D
Originally Posted by 458Win
I corresponded with Les for years and can likely dig up his old letters. Like those from Finn Aagaard they tell a lot about the writing industry and editors of the day. He talked a lot about his flying career
And guns as well. After Les died I stopped by to look at the rifles he had left for sale and looked at and probably should have purchased the Sharps/ Borchart
I always admired his experience and opinions

It would be nice to have a clearing house of sorts to accumulate this data for preservation and hopefully, someday, a complete historical work. Dr. Ken seems to have a good supply of pertinent info. It would be a shame for this to pass into oblivion.

DF

Last edited by Dirtfarmer; 04/03/19.
GB1

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
Originally Posted by Quak
I dont know that I agree with you MD. I graduated high school in 2001 (to date myself) and Id love a book on Mr. Bowman. Id venture a guess that avid hunters and shooters in my age bracket read O'Connor, Page, etc more that you might imagine. The only one of the classic writers that may have lost a little shine with the younger guys is Keith.

Quak I'm not so much arguing w/you as giving you a couple of things to consider along this line of 'younger' and 'older' hunters and shooters.

First I have had a M 70 6.5X55 (Swede) since Dec 2011. Of the guys in a large deer lease - then- ; plus my neighbors here since moving......

only ONE guy knew what a 6.5X55 is. That's one out of about 60 guys !!!

Secondly, today I invited a neighbor who is a friend and an avid hunter to come over while I 'chronographed' two rifles.
He came and we had an enjoyable visit and I graphed @ 18-20 rds thru 2 rifles.

He did not KNOW what a chronograph was/is ! ! ! He is 63 y o.
He asked quite a few questions and I showed him the difference in some powders and some cases.
He did NOT know who Ken Oehler was ! ! !