Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B
I'm kinda new to handguns, having lived in Md, where you essentially can't have one...anyway, in their infinite wisdom, the Game Commission has decided the pistol range at sgl 109, will now be a 25 yard only range. Just wanted some educated opinions, on the wisdom of that. I've been going there regularly for the last couple of years, and the VAST majority of patrons shoot short barreled, self defense pistols, usually at around 10 yards. I'm not a bad pistol shot, but my smallest 9mm, a Kimber Micro 9, is good for about a 6" group at 25. The larger handguns do a good bit better. From what I've seen, most guys run about 6" at 10 yards. They'd have a very hard time running any kind of decent group at 25. A beginning shooter would be lost. It's too far. I think a 25 yd minimum would render the range unusable, for most that use it now. I'm gonna try to talk them into a shorter range, but want to know if you guys think I am wrong, in my assessment. The issue is the shooting bench is at 25, and they want all shooters at a common firing line. I get that. Moving the targets closer apparently would cause ricochet to be a concern, as they may miss the berm. I'm thinking moving the line to 12 yards would be a good compromise. There is a 25 yard target available at the adjacent rifle range. Thanks guys.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I like to shoot at claybirds at 50 and 100 yards.
10 yards has it's purposes, just not for me.

Sorry.

25 is kind of useless. It's ok "long range" for defense purposes, or short range for
Initial sight in on a hunting gun. As the only range? A compromise that suits nobody.

Parents who say they have good kids..Usually don't!
B
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B
Originally Posted by Dillonbuck
I like to shoot at claybirds at 50 and 100 yards.
10 yards has it's purposes, just not for me.

Sorry.