Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 66 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 65 66
E
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
E
I am the same well said guys we always unload for the same reasons but once we step into the woods we have a chambered round.

Originally Posted by SteelyEyes
Originally Posted by husqvarna
I have a round chambered in most hunting situations, but I always empty the chamber for horseback, climbing into a stand, crossing a fence or stream etc. I am very careful of what my muzzle covers and always use rifles with very positive safeties. Still I always advice people to never trust a safety.

Same here and I've been doing it that way for 35 years since my dad taught me how to hunt. Sure the hunter's safety course taught otherwise and I did it to make them happy and went right back to the way my dad taught me. Nobody in our family has accidently killed anyone or even had a accidental discharge of a weapon in all of the combined time we've been hunting.

If there is any proof of a man in a hunt it is not whether he killed a deer or elk but how he hunted it.
GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
A
If I am hunting yes.
If I am in transit to the place I am hunting, no.

Both scenarios can involve being dressed for the occasion, being armed and being in the field, they are not the same.

AGW

When truth is ignored, it does not change an untruth from remaining a lie.
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
I hunt empty chamber.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Jeff_Olsen

I will go first: yes, I hunt with a round in the chamber.

-jeff

I won't be hunting with you Jeff.

I always hunt empty. Where I hunt the terrain is typically steep and treacherous and a round in the chamber is a bad accident waiting to happen. It only takes one fall to kill yourself with an accidental discharge.