Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
A
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A
While Starrett tools were the gold standard in the shop where I started my Toolmaking career I used my VA education benefits to purchase a lot of Mitutoyo precision tools. Their mikes came with a vernier scale and carbide anvils, Starrett charged extra for their mikes to be equipped the same way. The shop also recommended the Starrett best-test dial indicator, I found the Interapid indicators to be more useful. When my Mitutoyo dial calipers died of old age GM replaced them with a Starrett dial calipers which I brought home to use measuring group size at benchrest matches I bought an inexpensive pair to use in the plant for spot checking my work. 🙂

GB1

R
RPN Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
R
When I was an apprentice a mate bought Starrett, and laughed at my Japanese Mitutoyo mics right up until I saw made in Brazil stamped on his gear.... nice friction thimbles though.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Friction thimbles are super nice. Mitutoyo made some models with friction thimble, though I have never seen one. I haven't seen a Starrett with one either. I have couple of my Mitutoyos are from Brazil, a 6" square and a 125mm mic. I have couple of sets of Polish VIS mics with thimbles. When I got them they were gummed up pretty bad, one was a NOS and the other a pawn shop find. Taking them apart and adjusting was an education, and a study in patience,though not as bad as the Lufkin or the Moore and Wrights. From my experiences , I would say the Mits are the most accurate, simply because they are the easiest to adjust.

You can hunt longer with wind at your back
A
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A
Originally Posted by downwindtracker2