Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10
Lou_270 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Hello All,

A single mom friend asked me to help pick out a deer rifle for her son. He's 16 and she wants to spend around $300. Being a hopeless gun trader, I tried to go down the route of let me find a "deal" on higher quaility, but she wants a new gun. Looking at guns out there in this range, it looksl like something along the lines of the Mossberg ATR100, Marlin XL7, or maybe the Stevens. Anybody have any experiences good or bad with these rifles? I'm probably looking for something in the .270, .308, or 7mm-08 class. The gun will be used for hunting deer/pigs/varmits in TX. I thought about the 336, but think the kid would want something a bit flatter shooting than .30-30 in a few years. Any other models out there I should consider?

Thanks,

Lou

HR IC

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Talk her into $99 more and go for the Weatherby

Lou_270 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Sprint11
Talk her into $99 more and go for the Weatherby
That's an interesting thought. The vanguard takes remington 700 bases, right? I have a bunch of those laying around so would offset the cost somewhat.

Lou

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
The Stevens will shoot, as will a Howa. Not sure what you can find the Howa for, but might lean that way a bit, or not...Savage package rifle with an accutrigger is between 300-400 IIRC, sometimes a rebate or something might get it for $300 or so.

DJ

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I've been impressed enough with the X-7 Marlins since they came out.
They look much better and have more features than the Stevens and are significantly less expensive than a comparable Savage.
The Mossberg, not so much although I haven't shot one.
I've recommended the x-7's to several friends and they are all impressed with the accuracy and quality obtained.

The Chosin Few November to December 1950, Korea.