Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Steelhead
And I don't have a number 4 from anyone on anything.

That's cause you're old and soft........... grin

HR IC

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
If ounces matter, get flutes.

Originally Posted by captain seafire
I replace valve cover gaskets every 50K, if they don't need them sooner...
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by mathman

It doesn't. Jim said it earlier, a fluted barrel is stiffer than a round barrel of the same weight...

Would a 20" #5 be less stiff than a 24" fluted #4 then if they weighed the same ?

dhg Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I am not a metallurgical engineer, but...

I don't believe in the value of fluted barrels. As stated, for a given weight the fluted barrel in theory will be stiffer, although there isn't that much in it because the loss in stiffness with fluting is actually greater than the loss in weight. So if you remove say 20% weight, you will lose about 30% stiffness. I have seen no evidence that the whole cooling thing actually works - in fact the experiments i have seen have actually suggested fluted barrels may heat up faster!. When you think about it, a round barrel just has more metal to soak up the heat which tends to offset any benefits thru enhanced convection. And conduction into the surrounding metal is much faster. Of course, the other issue is, has your barrel getting too hot ever been a problem when you are actually hunting. If it has, i would suggest it is your markmanship you need to work on, not your barrel.