-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
i am a licensed electrician in several states and although i cant speak for your area but to me that seems high.i just did a service change out,new panel,meter base and disconnect and new riser for $1500.now that was a family discount and i used top of the line equipment.

Originally Posted by deflave
Get your dick out of that rooster and go to church.

Travis

G
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
G
I'm a retired electician, and I think the quote was about double what it should be. Looks like he was trying to make his week's worth of profit on a half-day's job.

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
I will take a wild guess it was a company with a full page yellow page ad and "up front pricing". The ones around here charge $2-250 an hour in their up front pricing.

Keep shopping and you will find much better pricing.

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
That is a 1500 dollar job all day long around here.

Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most. - Mark Twain.
R
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
R
I'm all for do it yourself,But not on a service change out.as mentioned eat the $400.00,and get a couple more estimates.Its twice to three times what it should be.

IC B2

R
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
R
Also some contractors prices increase dramatically when you are in desperate shape,usually they will jump right on it and not give you time to get other quotes.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Most areas here, the meter socket/can is always FREE. That way you get the right one for the companies meters...

I'm with a city, and we never charge to disconnect, reconnect or upgrade our service drops to your weatherhead/meter socket.

In fact we still charge only 4.75 a foot for underground installed... to get from us to your socket...

As others have noted though, areas vary in price/cost.