Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
W
Looking for a new hunting scope. I am torn between purchasing one of the Leupolds in the 2- 12 range or I am also considering the Nightforce 3 -10 SHV.

How has your Leupold been holding up? If you bought your Leupold before the Nightforce came out, would you consider buying it now?

I am not concerned about the weight difference but more so the quality and longevity of the unit.

Thanks

WM

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Wondermutt,

To start with, I have no experience in the magnification range you are considering. On the other hand I certainly have experience with higher magnification range scopes.

To me the Nightforce is in a class above the Leupold as far as glass is concerned. They are better for discerning detail during daylight and last longer in low light situations.

To hear the vast majority of poster with experience, there's nothing better than the Nightforce for reliability.

"Only Christ is the fullness of God's revelation."
Everyday Hunter
W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
I have two of the VX-6 line. One 2-12, the other 3-18. They are very very fine scopes. I will buy more.

Wsmnut

Belief is often the death of reason.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I was helping a friend set up his 3-18 yesterday. It is a beautiful piece of glass, but it does exhibit some Leupold tracking tendencies...not moving as dialed or doing the right, left, right Leupold dance.

After about a box and half of 300 Win ammo it was starting to settle down and was holding zero. I would not give up on it yet if it were mine, but I will not buy one.

I would take the NF over the Leupold. You also might want to look at the new Bushnell LRHS since Bushnell is giving a one year window in which you can return it for a full refund if you don't like it.

405wcf

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger