Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
O
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
O
Been following with interest that thread. I'm just a average layman with average skills, but here is my take on the subject.

When working up loads, load 5 of each load.
select the best 2 groups, load 10 of each.
shoot 10 and declare a winner.
At this point might play with OAL
From there on, shoot 3 shot groups at 100 / 200 yards.

If time after time 100 yard groups of 3 are consistently under an 1.5 inch, and 200 yard groups are consistently under 3 inches. I'm happy. Why? Because that's all I ask of my rifles. Do I genuinely know what the actual accuracy of each rifle is? Probably not, but I don't need to know down to the inth degree what they are purely capable of. I do know that when I go hunting I have confidence I will fill the freezer out to 200 yards. Anything beyond that is not needed for my criteria. It suits my needs well. This applies to me. Your needs may vary. In Michigan where I hunt, its rare unless you live / hunt down a power line clearing to get 100+ yard shots, hence my logic.

That was/ is an interesting thread to say the least.

"Its easier to fool people......Than convince them that they have been fooled." Mark Twain
GB1

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
I have been keeping up with the post I started. Perhaps, we need to dig a little deeper and spell out what I see as important. I received a PM that truly categorized people with their firearms.

1. Shooters
2.Hunters
3. Casual shooters

He further went on to say there was a big difference between 1 and 2 and 3.