Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
S
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
I have a Smith & Wesson M&P-15 AR 5.56 Nato 1/7 twist.

I tried shooting some reloads through it...Winchester brass, Nosler 50 gr BT. When I pull the charge bar back and chamber a load, all I get is a click, sometimes nothing. THEN I can't extract the unfired round with out pounding on the chargebar.

What's going on?

Why is it called a double u, should'nt it be called a double v?
GB1

G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G
Common problem. You need to run the brass through a small base die to ensure proper FL resize. Redding makes one.

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
I'm no expert but I'd say small base dies are probably in order.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Was the brass FL resized?

S
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
Originally Posted by mailmanmark
Was the brass FL resized?

No I'm pretty sure I ran it through a neck sizer only. The reloads were originally for a 223 Kimber Montana.

Why is it called a double u, should'nt it be called a double v?
IC B2

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
That is the problem. Full length resize and that should fix the problem. A small bsae sizer die probably isn't necessary.

μολὼν λαβέ
J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
screw your die in a 1/4 turn at the time, size the brass until it does not get stuck, no need to load a bullet to try it, just make sure it is trimmed. You die is not into the press far enough and is not sizing the brass all the way. You don't need small base dies, I have reloaded 1000's of 223 cartridges with regular dies... and seen the exact phenomena on this and other cartridges.

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
Make sure you aren't smashing the neck down into the case and bulging the shoulder

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T