Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Huntz
The answer is "GET A JOB".If your degree does not lead you to a job"YOU GOT FUGGED".College is not always the answer to a good paying job.There are plenty of good paying Trade jobs available and going unapplied for.

Hear hear. I keep saying that my career as a software developer could have started seven years earlier if I had gotten a job straight out of high school. I would have been making money instead of spending money for those years, and I would have learned useful industry skills much sooner. I've been a pro now for 32 years, and I've still only ever used one thing I learned in college.

"But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain--that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist." --Lysander Spooner, 1867

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I used my college degree a lot. I majored in agriculture and my last 15 years of working were with a seed company where I put my knowledge of genetics to good use.
I had an advantage, though. The Univ of Idaho is one of the top agricultural schools in the nation but it's still a state school so the prices were quite low (at least they were then). I came out with almost no debt.

β€œIn a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
35 years ago, computer training was vastly different than now - that was pre 1996 when the IT revolution in the business workplace exploded and if you could say computer you got a job

Every 5 -7 years whatever you learned in college in that field is basically obsolete and you'll need to teach yourself new technology at the workplace.