Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Yukoner Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Here's one that really has me stumped. I have been handloading for almost forty years and never come across this before.
<br>
<br>Loading a 300 Win mag.
<br>
<br>Fired cases go back into the chamber fine, but are hard chambering after being FL resized.
<br>
<br>I have measured the over all length of the case before and after and the cases are .005" longer after sizing. Presumably the shoulder is moving ahead somewhat, as well.
<br>
<br>Any ideas on how to solve this?
<br>
<br>Ted

GB1

AFP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Ted,
<br>
<br>It's hard to explain, but the simple answer is to screw down your sizing die a little more. What is happening is your aren't pushing the shoulder back far enough. With partial FL sizing, the shoulder actually moves forward a little. As you get more and more sizing accomplished, the shoulder will start to be pushed back. If you already have the die hitting the shell holder, then get another shellholder and grind down the top of it a little, then readjust your die.
<br>
<br>Blaine

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
? I have noticed that cases are longer after sizing and I always measure and trim cases after they have been through the sizing die. But I don't know what would cause a case to chamber in the rifle before sizing and then fit tight after sizing. Belted cases do head space off of the belt don't they? Have you checked your case neck thickness? Could they be getting thick enough that your expander ball is sizing them back out and now they fit tight in the chamber? That's just a wild assed guess.

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke 1795

"Give me liberty or give me death"
Patrick Henry 1775
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter