Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I'm new to BP and ML. I recently purchased a CVA Hawken Sidelock in .50 caliber. I have also ordered the Lee mold that will cast a 320 grain R.E.A.L. bullet and a .490 ball.
<br>
<br>Have any of you used the R.E.A.L. bullet? If so what kind of accuracy did you get? How did it work on deer and hog size game? A mature buck in our area will run about 100 pounds field dressed and the biggest hogs shouldn't be much over 200 pounds.

Born in the Pineywoods of East Texas a long long time ago.[Linked Image]
GB1

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
I don't have any experience with killing a deer with the Lee REAL bullet. I cast a 250 grain Lee REAL bullet, my round balls, and a 320 grain or so T/C Maxi. (like the maxi hunters you see in the store in the yellow boxes.)
<br>
<br>I too shoot a 50 cal. A flinter and a caplock, both have 1/48 twist.
<br>
<br>What twist is yours?
<br>
<br>I will have to say that your 320 grain Lee bullet is PLEANTY BIG enough for the deer you plan to hunt and just right for hogs. I would use it for bigger game acutally, the hogs you describe will be perfect for the big bullet. Your round ball will do the trick very will on the deer you describe. How do I know? Well not directly from experience but from some experience.
<br>
<br>This year I killed a 200 pound 9 point buck with my 50 cal flintlock at 60 yards. I was using a 333gr T/C Maxi I cast pushed by 80 gr FFg. I shot the deer head on hitting him between the neck and the right front shoulder. The bullet penetrated 30 inches! I was really impressed! The T/C bullet expanded nicely.
<br>
<br>That Lee bullet you have will be perfect for hogs. I don't imagine it will expand very much on deer unless it hits bone.
<br>
<br>I have found that I got good accuracy from my 250gr Lee bullets but they are a pain in the butt to load!
<br>