Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
shaman Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
This kind of dovetails my previous thread about 9mm. However, I did not want to muddy the waters with this issue. I'm thinking about a progressive reloader specifically for 9mm. I've been working off a Rockchuker since 2000 for everything (over a dozen chamberings), and this is the first time I've really thought about another press.

I know up front the preferred answer is Dillon. However, the price of the Lee Loadmaster has me at least wanting to ask: is there any sense in contemplating anything other than a blue paint job?

I figure I want at least a 4-station press so that I can use a Lee Factory Crimp die to do a final resize. I currently do all my priming with a RCBS hand primer, and I like the ease of dumping the primers onto a tray and shoving it in. Filling tubes never impressed me. I'd like to be able to run off 200 rounds in an hour instead of taking a whole morning, and I'd love to do it without pulling a handle 800 times.

Besides 9mm, I might conceivably want to load other stuff like 357 Mag, 45 ACP, and 223 REM on this press in the future, but I'm in no big hurry on any of this. If I could get 9mm down pat for now, I'd be happy.

Genesis 9:2-4 Ministries Lighthearted Confessions of a Cervid Serial Killer
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Dillon 550. Easy to change tool heads for your different calibers and taking your time you'll get 400 per hour.

Love mine for 357 magnum and I seat and crimp with one die.

All American

All the time
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Lee puts out some good stuff, but the Loadmaster is not some of it. I'd get a Dillon or Hornady.

G
g5m Offline
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
I'd suggest a Dillon 550, also. Some prefer a 650 but 550 always did everything I might need.

Retired cat herder.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I will have to second the Dillon 550B.

IC B2

H