Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
+1 on the cold pads, I have used a flexible gel pad during recovery not only from disc problems but also after hip replacement and rotator cuff surgery. Twenty minutes of cold pac after physical therapy did much to allow
my recovery to go well.

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
The first step is to get the inflammation down - use your doctor's advice. Then, physical therapy - core stretches, etc. I'd suggest having the doctor refer you to a good PT facility, tell them you want a schedule of exercises and stick to them. I've had L5/S1 surgery and repeated trouble with other discs, and got so I couldn't get my own pants on in the morning. My surgeon, in his attempt to avoid surgery, thankfull, pointed me to the core stretches routine and I've been doing them every morning for 5-6 years. If, for some reason, I miss them in the morning, I feel it all day long....

T
TLB2 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
Originally Posted by hanco
I have always had a strong back and a weak mind. No back trouble yet.

Count you blessings, cause being down in your back is damn sure no fun.

C
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
C
Been here, done this. If the MRI shows no nerve impingement, seriously, don't do anything. The pain will go away in six weeks. This is what happened with me. According to the spine surgeon, this is how it goes. The irritated nerve "burns out". It hurts like hell, but it will be fine. Good luck.
BTW, stay away from chiropractors.

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I forgot about the insurance angle.