Print Thread
Hop To
Z
Zengela Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Z
I'm down in Phoenix Arizona on my one day off running around taking care of chores. Its HOT. Reminds me of a hunt I did a few years ago in Zimbabwe. An elephant hunt. Tuskless in Dande South in October. The "suicide month" because its so friggin hot. I got my ele. I wish I could say it was pleasurable but it wasn't. At least 123ish???in the shade. So boys, how hot have you guys hunted in Africa? I am gonna go and hunt with my good buddy at the end of the hunting year for them next year and score on several leftover tags. Very cheap Maybe a buff or 2? Lots of plains game, but with the intense heat. Sucking down lots of water, and weird looks from the camp staff when I want a mopane fire in the evening at 103 degrees.

GB1

C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
Hi Zengela,

I too live in Phoenix. Hot this week eh? 112 right now as I post this. To your question, I've been in the Luangwa Valley in November. It sure is hot but in our case, we hunted till 10ish, returned to camp, had lunch, then a nap in the deep shade offered by the lush groves of the trees in camp. Back out to hunting at 3 or so. I also have been in the Zambezi Valley fishing in late November. Hot is hot, no matter where you go.

To me, the only hard part was no A/C at night to help getting to sleep.

I really prefer the months of late August and September for temperate days and cool nights.

Monsoon is suppose to start this weekend. Gonna get humid now. smile

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
I hunted the Zambezi Valley this year in April. I arrived in camp on April 6th. The hottest day we experienced was 40C, which equates to 110F, more or less (40x2+30=110).

It was damn hot and humid, but the nights were pleasant. The days were really too hot to enjoy. Henceforth, I will limit my safaris to June, July and August.

BTW, congrats on your success. October is an excelllent month to hunt elephant in Dande South.

M