Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I have a Remington 700 heavy barrel 308 with a Leupold scope that has been a great setup for me. Until now I have mainly use the gun in side 200 yards, however, I recently joined a rifle range that allows me to shoot out as far as 600 yards. I have little knowledge of how these Tactical Systems work on Scopes so any help would be appreciated. I see that the knobs are marked at one MOA so any explanation of the adjustment process would be very helpful.

Attached Images
20171011_071441-540x720-216x288.jpg (25.6 KB, 31 downloads)
20171011_071441-540x720.jpg (90.4 KB, 25 downloads)
GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Couple questions need answered before you can start to get a decent answer:

What reticle do you have in the Leupold? Is the scope a First Focal, or Second Focal plane scope?

The knobs work the same on hunting scopes as they do on "tactical" scopes, an MOA adjustment is the same on both.

Tactical scopes - in your case, the Leupold Mark IV - are supposed to be better at dialing knobs for extended range corrections. Reality - all scopes should be repeatable, and calibrated correctly, but this is not always true. Usually, there are some pretty strong opinions posted here on this topic, and some are based on extended experience.

You need to know you bullet weight, muzzle velocity, and the ballistic coefficient or the bullet type to start on your range corrections.

Get a Shooter's App for your smart phone, this will get you started without much problem.

Based on the answers above, you can either - dial the correction into your scope, or use the calibration marks in the reticle to "hold-over" the target, and leave the dials alone.

How do you define your need for accuracy? MOA of deer, MOA of the X ring, or MOA is close enough?

Last edited by AH64guy; 10/11/17.
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member