Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
B
According to the fish and game website a type 4 tag (cow calf) costs the same as a type 1. Is that right? I'm a non resident looking at zone 7.

If you love someone set them free
If they come back no one else liked them
Set them free again
GB1

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
You can apply for the reduced price cow or calf tag. We did that last year and hunted unit 7. Bout 50% draw odds I believe with no points

J
JJD Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
J
type 6 is reduced price cow calf

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Type 4 cow tag will take your PP. Type 6 and 7 are reduced price cow/calf tags and do not take PP.

B
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
B
Thanks for the help everyone. Looks like it's what I thought. I'm trying to hunt with a resident. I expect him to draw a type 4 or 1. They open in October. Type 6 tentatively opens in August. Type 7 opens in January. All of the deer seasons in deer area 65 open in October so I'll probably do that.

Set them free again
IC B2

G
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
G
Cows can be tough to find on public land in area 7 until the snow starts to pile up and bull season closes. Of course at that time, the weather can be a big determining factor with drifting closing off some areas if the wrong storm rolls through. I'm probably not going to bother chasing any cows up there this year until after Thanksgiving. Btw, the type 6 only opens in August if you're hunting private land in certain counties, otherwise it opens to rifle in mid October like types 1 and 4.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker

Btw, the type 6 only opens in August if you're hunting private land in certain counties, otherwise it opens to rifle in mid October like types 1 and 4.

HMA's and walk-in areas are included in these areas that can be rifle hunted, opening in August.

Wyoming Game and Fish:

Good morning,