Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Madcap Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
Any advice appreciated, I have owned for some time A very nicely sporterised 1917 Enfield , The bolt face is not flat so when fired the Brass leans noticeably away from the extractor side.( when placed on A flat serfice
) making the Brass not fit for reloading. Any idea for A Fix.

Thanks Ken

GB1

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
Nick Hughes is the best mod17 Enfield smith that I know of: nhughesjsvalve

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Also note you're probably going to have to have the barrel set back a thread to make up for the material taken off the bolt face when squaring it up.

Y
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Y
Doesn't one swap bolt heads on those to alter headspace? I'm not an expert on the Enfield but I think I remember that. If so, it may just be a matter of finding another bolt head that is square and gives the correct headspace. FYI many of those old Enfields have severely excessive headspace, so having it checked by a good smith is a good idea.

It's also possible that the crooked case head may be a result of damage to one lug on the bolt head, or one of the lug seats in the receiver.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Originally Posted by Yondering
Doesn't one swap bolt heads on those to alter headspace? I'm not an expert on the Enfield but I think I remember that. If so, it may just be a matter of finding another bolt head that is square and gives the correct headspace. FYI many of those old Enfields have severely excessive headspace, so having it checked by a good smith is a good idea.

It's also possible that the crooked case head may be a result of damage to one lug on the bolt head, or one of the lug seats in the receiver.

The OP is asking about a U.S. Model of 1917, a derivative of the Pattern 14 Enfield. You are thinking about .303 calibre, Rifle, Magazine, Lee–Enfield and it's various Marks.

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
IC B2

B
Campfire Outfitter