Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 10
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Originally Posted by OrangeOkie
Originally Posted by cv540
I always thought the AK platform and round was about the perfect midpoint between a M14 in .308 and M16 in .556, and about the perfect anti-personnel combination.

Understand that the politics of things would never permit Western countries to adapt it during the Cold War.

Still think that by ignoring it they are trying to reinvent the wheel.

Our communist enemies still use the 7.62 Russian so we would not be producing any weapons in that cartridge lest they fall into the hands of our enemies.

Project Eldest Son

Not a real member - just an ordinary guy who appreciates being able to hang around and say something once in awhile.

Happily Trapped In the Past (Thanks, Joe)

Not only a less than minimally educated person, but stupid and out of touch as well.

T
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
T
I'm no expert,no military service. I do own a FAL and an ar15. The M14 was phased out due to the fact that it requires quite a bit of machining to produce the parts it uses. Even today with cnc machines those parts rack up some man-hours and it gets expensive. I have a cheap cai FAL that has never failed to function,there are some thing I would change about it,but it always ran (except one time I put the wrong springs in the wrong place ;)) .It is solid steel and damn heavy to think about carrying a long distance. I did spend some time working in a place where they parts for the ar15,and despite that still own one. If I had one complaint it's the ar15 runs when wet,and dies when dry. Just my 2 cents.

J
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
J
In short...... the AR platform is not a hill to die on as far as the 2A is concerned.

I'm not going to go too much into the M16 vs M14 debate except to say we'd have filled a lot more body bags over the last 50 years if we were still using the M14.