Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
Plain old brown Carhartts are better than 99% of the camo out there.

'Four legs good, two legs baaaad."
----------------------------------------------
"Jimmy, some of it's magic,
Some of it's tragic,
But I had a good life all the way."
(Jimmy Buffett)

SotG
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by 30338
Study and learn how to take quality field pictures.

And has been mentioned by others, quality time with your kids in the field, is the best time.

My pard from ID used to annoy me with the amount of time/effort he'd put in to taking pictures. Now I'm that guy. All too often they are the best/only momento from a hunt and a great way to relive it.

Once you have kids this becomes very important!

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I'm no expert photographer, but even I can take a decent one with modern digital cameras.
On sunny days, push hats back to get rid of half moon shadows on faces.
Do NOT attempt to make an animal look bigger by standing back or holding it at arms length. It looks fake and fools no one. It cheapens the shot. Your animal is what it is. Show it for what it is.
Look at what's in the background. Moving or turning the animal a bit can sometimes greatly improve the shot.
Get the animal completely in or out of the shadows. The camera can adjust for light or dark but it can't fix a patchwork of light and dark. Get the light even.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
T
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
T
Here are a few tips I've picked up over the years for hunting from a blind.

1)