Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
Been a while since I updated my CPR/first aid certs. Anyone ever take one of the 16 hour wilderness first aid classes? Are they worth it, or is it 16 hours of tying a triangle bandage? Not expecting paramedic type stuff, but something more than advanced bandage application and chest compressions would be great.

A
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A
I’ve heard good things about the wilderness first classes but being an EMT I haven’t taken it. I just put together a first aid kit that rivals the ones we had on the engines and aid cars. I’ve got full oxygen therapy with airways, non-rebreathers, cannulas, BVM, etc. I also got an AED since up at our place in Alaska help ain’t just a phone call away. I’ve got quick clot and everything needed for major trauma/bleeding and have ordered valves for a sucking chest wound and a complete extremity splint kit with C-collars. I’ve even got 2 bags of NS....sodium chloride and IV administration sets. I need to be able to deal with any emergency that my family or friends might face so as to get them stabilized before they get transported. My background will hopefully be able to help the locals should they need it.

Having the knowledge is extremely important but having the equipment to put the knowledge to use is integral to complete emergency field care.

Good luck!

�Politicians are the lowest form of life on earth. Liberal Democrats are the lowest form of politician.� �General George S. Patton, Jr.

---------------------------------------------------------
~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
My Granddaughter is a Wilderness EMT. They either go in on horseback, Coptor or a good long hike. She says any first aid training a person has can be extremely helpful keeping a person stable until help arrives. She says if you are in the backcountry by all means any training you have could save a life.

L
Campfire Outfitter