Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I have a new to me 26 Nosler rifle headed my way next week...Former owner who had it built worked up a few different loads for it and included his brief findings with each load below.

I have ZERO experience shooting Bergers, Lapua, or JLK bullets...The BC of all 3 seem very close in tolerances...

My question to those of you familiar with the above bullets is how they perform at close range? Do they open up at at 150-250 yards on animals when speeding @ 3300 FPS? A recent thread indicated a top brand bullet named above, shot from a rig set up for LR shooting, made what should have been a terminal hit on a moose at close range...Moose was never recovered by the Outfitter for his client...

The Outfitter witnessed the solid hit and thought the only explainable reason for it not dropping where it stood, was the bullet didn’t expand at close range.

I will load for the rifle...My plans for it is limited in use...Aside from being a “Fun Gun” to punch targets at my 800 yard range, I will throw it in a hard case, keeping it my rig for long range shots on deer or a coyote watching me from afar....I will hunt it as my main rifle for Antelope...

I’ve had really good experiences with Barnes TSX, TTSX, and NAB’s...I know from many written testimonials, the Berger and Lapua 6.5 mm bullets are very accurate....Are they deadly at closer yardage’s?

***Rifle***
LIKE NEW! Custom Built 26 Nosler by MC Gunsmithing in Plains, Montana; Trued Remington 700 action; BDL Bottom metal; Lilja #6 stainless, fluted barrel finished at 26"....1:8 twist; KDF Sniper Muzzle Brake; Graphite Cerakote; Manners T2A Stock in Gap Camo (adjustable cheekpiece with KMW hardware); 3 Sling Swivel Studs(2 in front, 1 in back); MC Gunsmithing Custom Bolt Knob; Jewel Trigger; 20 MOA Nightforce picatinny base(glass bedded)

***Loads***