-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I am new to Glocks and cast all my pistol bullets from wheel weights. I have always heard you are not supposed to use lead/cast bullets in a Glock. I know there are aftermarket barrels, but I have not found one for the model 41 in 45 ACP. Are the lead/cast bullets really an issue in the Glock?

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Yes, according to a tester (name escapes me now) who did just that and cross-sectioned the barrels.

I've shot lead in Glocks and scrubbed hell out of their barrels before shooting jacketed bullets again.

Lots of coated and plated bullets are available now and if I wanted to keep my OEM barrel, I'd use them to be on the safe side.

Direct Impingement is the Fart Joke of military rifle operating systems. ⓒ
P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
Powdercoat and shoot, no problem.

KKM makes an aftermarket Glock 41 barrel.

Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Thanks I will take a look at KKM.

H
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
H
Heat treat the WW's, size to fit the throats and check function.

Leading in Glock polygonal rifling is caused by stripping at engagement due to shallow rifling and minimal groove support. Softer alloys with minimal size diameter exacerbate this.

I've never used a gas check design in a Glock, but those ought to work as well.

IC B2

D
dla Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
Originally Posted by JWC in MS
I am new to Glocks and cast all my pistol bullets from wheel weights. I have always heard you are not supposed to use lead/cast bullets in a Glock. I know there are aftermarket barrels, but I have not found one for the model 41 in 45 ACP. Are the lead/cast bullets really an issue in the Glock?

Cast isnt an issue. Not sure why this issue keeps going round and round.
Use the stock barrel. Shoot all thevcast tou want. Have fun.

P
Campfire Tracker
Online Happy
Campfire Tracker
P