Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
J
Has anyone used the Corbin swages to make .228 jacketed bullets out of 22 LR cases? I found some stuff on line about making .224 jacketed bullets, then I found Corbins, so I called them. They make the stuff to make .228 HP bullets. He said they don't get a lot of interest, and it's really pretty easy. I think the web site said they have the stuff to make from .104 to 1 inch bore. The final length of one of their rounds was .705 inch long, and 65 grains. That sounds like it would work in 1:14 twist? Anybody know anything on the subject?

I'm not greedy, I just want one of each.

Remember Ira Hayes

JoeMartin
GB1

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
I have some limited knowledge.

First off our barrels have 1-12" twist which will stabilize a .705" bullet. I trim my Hornadys to a bit longer than that and they work.

Initial outlay for all the apparatus isn't cheap. Simple .22 bullets made from spent .22 cases don't require really heavy duty presses (a good stout O-frame reloading press will suffice) but a purpose-made swaging press is a lot better from an ergonomic standpoint. Corbin equipment is expensive. The gear for making these bullets is nowhere near as expensive than that for making regular jacketed bullets but still a lot more than grabbing a set of RCBS loading dies off the shelf. The guys I've talked to about doing it all whined about the steep learning curve they went through before they started turning out good bullets- it's not as easy as Corbin makes it out to be.