Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
J
Hey guys, a newby here. I was looking for a little help. I have a 22 HP that I started shooting a little this fall thinking I would take it deer hunting. I bought some S&B ammo to shoot and some reloaded ammo from a company in Wisconsin that used S&B brass. The accuracy was pretty poor to say the least. I started looking over the cases and found that they are all swelled about a 1/4” up from the head of the case. I reached out to a local gunsmith and he said it is a common problem and has to do with the European ammunition and brass. Anyone else have any experience with this? Thanks for the comments in advance.

“What’s good for me may not be good for the weak minded.”- Augustus McCrae
“It’s better to have it, and not need it; than to need it and not have it.” - Woodrow Call
GB1

G
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
G
Without seeing the gun, I'll guess your gunsmith was right. Aside from the chambers in our guns tending toward the upper end of size tolerance (especially if the chamber was cut with a new reamer before being sharpened a couple times to where it was minimum sized), Euro ammo tends to be a couple thousandths smaller in head diameter than domestic .22HP stuff (one theory that I buy into is that it's from a simple translation of English into Metric). If the tolerances in your situation have stacked up against you, bingo, unsightly bulges. More of a concern to someone who wants to reload the brass than someone who just tosses it in the trash. Bear in mind also that S&B ammo is loaded a little hot.

Welcome, by the way!

Last edited by gnoahhh; 10/24/18.

"You can lead a man to logic, but you cannot make him think." Joe Harz
"Always certain, often right." Keith McCafferty
J
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
J
Thanks for the info, is there anything a guy can do to remedy the case swelling or just have to find some domestic brass?