Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
What would it cost to get my rifle rebarreled and rechamberd? I currently have a 30-06 and would like to rebarrel to 6.5X55.
Do you buy the barrel blank and then have a it chambered by a smith, or can you buy them already chambered for your desired caliber.
I know the barrel cost is dependent on the maker, I am thinking Douglas, good quality less expensive.
Does the smith cost include bluing if I go that route or is it just smarter to go with stainless?
Is cutting to a specific length part of the cost?
Will the bolt face have to be altered, I figure that will be an additional cost
What is a ballpark cost, I am totally new to this?
Lots of questions.

Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want!
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Somewhere in the neighborhood of $200 for a Douglas barrel, possibly more for an air guage quality. Around $300-$350 for a higher quality barrel- Rock, Bartlein, Lilja, Shilen, etc..... figure about $350 for threading, chambering, set headspace, etc.... Truing up your bolt face would be extra is necessary- it usually isn't unless you're really trying to squeeze that last little bit out of it. Bluing is extra- depending on if it is salt bluing or soft rust it can run from $150-$180 for salt bluing up to twice that for quality rust bluing. These are rough numbers, but should get you in the neighborhood.

Never underestimate your ability to overestimate your ability.
G
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
G
Originally Posted by Sheister
Bluing is extra- depending on if it is salt bluing or soft rust it can run from $150-$180 for salt bluing up to twice that for quality rust bluing. These are rough numbers, but should get you in the neighborhood.

other shops get that much for bluing a barrel action? I better raise my prices I'm ripping myself off.

T
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
T