Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 9 10
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
Originally Posted by MontanaMarine
...I can still nug out 100 pullups in about 30 minutes.

I don't really think a 50 lb bow is going to put my dick in the dirt...

Not to chit on another's post, but you'll be just fine. 17 pullups is the best I ever did on my USMC PFT and a lifetime later can do a handfull at best. I shoot 50-55 lb bows daily and actually struggle with bows below 50 lbs. Below that, there isn't enough string tension for me to get a clean release and I find 52-53 lbs to be a sweet spot.

GB1

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Pull ups are not the same as pulling a bow everyday shooting 200 to 300 arrows a day. I was a 300 PFTer in the Corps and can still run a First Class PFT. I am 6'4" 260lb can still bangout 20 kipping pull-ups. I hunt with a 45lb Long Bow. Which at my draw length is a tad under 50lb. I have been slinging arrows since 7 years old. I see it everyday guys wanting to shoot heavy bows and never get good, or get to what they consider good. Which isn't good in reality. It's your money your life. But any good archery shop would order you another bow at a more suitable draw weight. Oh well either way enjoy and welcome to the world of Traditional Archery. When your grouping the size of a big tuna can @20 yards you are good. When you get it down to the size of a soda can you are doing great.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
M
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
M
I appreciate all the input.

Like I said before, I'm kind of at the place where I don't know what I don't know. Trying to absorb some knowledge, but as they say, experience is the best teacher.

I saw MCH mentioning a Samick with two sets of limbs on another thread. If this 50 is a fail for a starter, I will adjust as needed.

J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J